top of page

My Granny Ms. Lula


Strong and firm with a hint of community service is how I will always remember my grandmother, Lula. She had over 10 children and was married twice. Lula was not very tall but she was a monumental figurine in the eyes of all her children and grandchildren. She commanded respect and she received it. My grandmother was the CEO of her entire household. Ms. Lula is responsible for putting her thread in all of her grandbabies. She had a host of grandbabies running through her bloodline. We could always count on our grandma to step in and lend a hand raising all of us. She was 100% old school in her parenting skills. By old school I mean, she raised us to reverence our elders and to fear God. She gave us some of her wisdom and disciplined us accordingly. The things you as an individual do today can and will affect your bloodline. Please think about your choices and your behavior. My grandmother didn’t have perfect kids but she trained all of them to be respectful, responsible and to love others! She encouraged us to pursue our goals and dreams; to work hard for things we want in life.

My grandmother had a way with her words. Her words were very powerful. Her words made you stronger or broke you into pieces of bonhomie to get yourself right; your life right! Ms. Lula loved to laugh and tell jokes to the young and old. My grandmother had friends of every age group. Playing card was her number one hobby. She enjoyed playing cards so much; playing all night at times. Ms. Lula also loved to cook. She always made food for an extended amount of people because her family was so big. Ms. Lula loved to keep up on current events. She read the Sunday paper every week.

My grandma Lula was an educator of common sense, love and confidence. She had such great faith. If you hung around Ms. Lula long enough, you would be the student and she would teach you plenty-many things. She had tactics like a lawyer and very curious (inquisitive) like a reporter. Sometimes she knew things about your own life before you did. My grandmother once told me that God healed her more than once. She told me to always believe (lord knows I do). I thought to myself, wow! My grandmother did not talk about her life as a young woman, unless you asked her questions. Ms. Lula was the type of woman who will always matter and she will never be obsolete in my heart. Ms. Lula will always reign in the veins of her children and grandchildren. We shall all drown and bleed in love, peace and unity. That is how Ms. Lula wanted it!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page